Resignations Hit Imo PDP as Seven Members Step Down from State Working Committee

Seven members of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Imo State have resigned from the party’s State Working Committee. The aggrieved members, including the state Deputy Chairman, Martin Ejiogu, accused the PDP governorship candidate, Senator Sam Anyanwu, of high-handedness, threat to life, intimidation, and lack of focus. They claimed that since Anyanwu became the National Secretary of the Party, he has consistently used his position to target members of the state Working Committee.

The resigned members held a press conference in Owerri, the state capital, to express their grievances. Collins Opurozor, who was the state publicity secretary of the party, spoke on behalf of the former PDP State Working Committee members. He blamed Senator Anyanwu for the recent troubles faced by the party in the state, describing his emergence as the PDP governorship candidate as the cruelest in the party’s history and an unjust imposition by the National Working Committee.

Opurozor highlighted the achievements of the Working Committee in building a strong and enviable PDP in Imo State, expanding the democratic space by forming thousands of chapters across polling units, and promoting accountability in party administration. However, he accused Senator Anyanwu of using his power to fight against the committee members, create strife, and erode democratic values within the Imo PDP.

The former members also mentioned that they had faced assassination attempts due to false allegations of misappropriating party funds, which they claimed were spread by Senator Anyanwu and his supporters. They accused the National Secretary of stealing materials for the party’s congresses and causing a stalemate that consumed party resources and required appeasement of multiple stakeholders to ensure participation in the 2023 elections.

See also  Shehu Sani: South East Merely Following the Course of History, Says Peter Obi

The seven members who resigned from the Imo PDP include the party’s secretary, youth leader, deputy state chairman, state woman leader, state treasurer, and state vice chairman of the Orlu Zone.

Scroll to Top